Schmoo Cake

While visiting family in Columbus, I went to Whole Foods Market before heading home. I was very pleased to see that there were green tags indicating gluten-free choices hanging from the shelf. So much easier to find food I could eat!

But what really took my breath away was the refrigerated case filled with ready-to-eat gluten-free baked goods. I picked out a vanilla cupcake (deliciously sweet icing) and a schmoo cake, which I had never heard of before. For more information and the schmoo cake recipe, click here. I have yet to make a gluten-free cake without a mix, but I definitely want to figure this one out. Experiments, commence!

2 thoughts on “Schmoo Cake

  1. It’s a wonderful story! Thanks so much for sharing it. I have tried the recipe. The filling and caramel sauce taste amazing homemade. Because I’m gluten intolerant, I’ve been experimenting with the cake itself. And since gluten-free flours need more liquid and don’t rise as much as flour with gluten, it has been a fun experiment. If nothing else, I’ll always stop by Whole Foods and pick it up from the gluten-free section. That’s how I was introduced to Schmoo Cake in the first place.

Leave a Reply

